This blog was started as a place for me to share thoughts and ramblings about my research, reading, writing and teaching.

Over the last few years my research has been concerned with the young working classes of York, their leisure and courtship activities, as well as the relationship between these activities and the streets and public spaces of the city. This research formed the basis of my PhD thesis, completed at the University of Leeds in 2015, and which I’m currently revising for publication as my first monograph.

writing

As well as research ideas, I’m also hoping to use this site as a space to reflect on my teaching and on other academic-related experiences more broadly. I teach modules that reflect my interest in social, cultural and urban history, and am also a strong believer in the need to work towards the wider dissemination of academic research. I have been involved with a number of community history and engagement projects, including the AHRC funded ‘Creating Our Future Histories’ project, in association with Manchester Metropolitan University, and the Leeds Creative Labs ‘Hepworth Edition’, working collaboratively with academics and creative technologists on a project to ‘Remix the Gallery’. You can find out more about the Creating Our Future Histories projects here, and the Creative Labs here.

Well, that seems just about enough for a first post, so I’ll leave it there. Thanks for reading, and do come back!

If you’d like to get in touch you can do so via email or twitter – I’m always happy to receive any comments or suggestions for what you’d like to see here on the blog.

